Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Hall of Fame

If I had a ballot, my selections would be as follows:

  1. Bert Blyleven
  2. Jeff Bagwell
  3. Barry Larkin
  4. Alan Trammel
  5. Tim Raines
I'm on the fence about Edgar Martinez.  I'm not on the fence about Jack Morris -- unless I  see some compelling analysis to the contrary, he just doesn't make it.  And as far as comparing him to Blyleven:

Blyleven:  90.1 WAR, 118 ERA+, 60 shutouts, 2.80 K/BB
Morris:  39.3 WAR, 105 ERA+, 28 shutouts, 1.78 K/BB

But what about Game 7 in 1991?

That's all well and good, but Bert's postseason record is 5-1, 2.47 ERA.
Morris in the postseason was 7-4, 3.80 ERA.

No comments:

Post a Comment